Avada & Associates legal team announce deal to open up oil & gas

Understanding The Repercussions Of Getting A DUI In Ohio

While consumers are often well aware of the consequences of breaking the law, many will still do so anyway. They mistakenly believe that they will not get caught. Or they simply take their freedom for granted, until they have been caught red handed.

Getting a DUI in Ohio might be a minor criminal charge, but the severity of the crime can increase with repeated offenses. And, you should realize that the DUI arrest may also be coupled with other misdemeanors. Below, you will learn more about driving under the influence in the State of Ohio.

The Alcohol Limit

First and foremost, you should realize that it is not illegal to drink a small glass of wine and then jump behind the steering wheel. You will only be committing a crime if your blood alcohol level exceeds the minimum threshold. The limitations vary depending on your age and whether or not you’re driving commercially.

If you fall under the age of 21, you will be breaking the law if your BAC level exceeds .02%. Those 21 years and older must remain below the BAC level of .08%. Commercial drivers should remain below .04%. If you exceed these limits, you will be arrested and you will go to jail for some duration.

Potential Repercussions

Now, you should realize that the repercussions associated with a DUI arrest will vary depending on several factors. Repeat offenders will always face stiffer penalties than first time offenders. At the same time, a lawyer will likely be able to help you obtain the minimum penalties.

Using the services of a public defender will likely increase your penalties towards the maximum. For a 1st time offender, the amount of jail time received can vary from three days to six months. You will also be required to pay a fine, which can total anywhere from $250 to $1,000. And finally, your license will be suspended for at least 6 months.

If you refuse to take the breathalyzer test, your license will automatically be suspended for 1 year.

Driving After A DUI

It is essential to remember that some official in Ohio are a little more liberal than others. After you’ve been arrested for a DUI and your license has been suspended, you may be able to negotiate with the judge for limited driving privileges.

In most cases, the judge will give you the right to drive back and forth to work or school. If you have been given permission to do so, it is vital to make sure you do not exceed these limitations or these privileges could be revoked.

Article Sponsored By: http://deniseswick.com/best-real-estate-agent-dayton-ohio/

best real estate agent in ohio

By |2017-05-15T23:57:36+00:00December 14th, 2016|DUI Law|0 Comments

Leave A Comment